5 Days of Tihar

Tihar (तिहार) or Yamapanchak (यमपञ्चक) is one of the important festival for Nepali Hindus. This festival is also called Dipawali/ Diwali (दिपावली / दिवाली) like in India but its observation procedure is slightly different from Indian Diwali.

In Nepal, Tihar is celebrated for Five days; as the divine attachment between Human and other animals and between brothers and sisters.

1st day : Kaag Tihar (काग तिहार  / Day of Crow) : Day of Kartik Krishna Trayodashi is celebrated as day for Crow. This day is also celebrated as Dhanteras (धनतेरस) buying precious metals like Silver and gold.

2nd day : Kukur Tihar (कुकुर तिहार / Day of Dog) : Day of Kartik Krishna Chaturdashi is celebrated as day for the dog. Food and garland are given to dog in this day.

3rd day : Gaai Tihar (गाई तिहार / Day of Cow) & Laxmi Puja (लक्ष्मी पुजा / Day of Laxmi, god of fortune) : New moon day or Aaushi (औंशी) is celebrated by worshiping the cow at the morning and goddess Laxmi at the evening. At the evening candles and lights are lit throughout the house and people participate in community play "deusi bhailo". Traditionally "Bhailo" is played by females in Laxmi Puja and "Deusi" is played by male next day. This day is also celebrated as main day of Diwali by Hindus around the world.

4th day : Gobhardhan Puja (गोबर्धन पुजा / Day of Ox) : Day of Kartik Shukla Pratipada, is celebrated worshiping the ox. This day Newari community do Mha Puja (म्हपुजा / worship of self). This day is also observed as the beginning of Nepal Sambat (A Calendar Native to Nepal).  

5th day : Bhai Tika (भाई टिका / Day of brothers and sisters) : This is the last and most important day of Tihar. Its celebrated at the day of Kartik Shukla Dwitiya according Hindu calendar. Brothers and sisters gather together and sisters put tika on the foreheads of brothers, to ensure long life, and thank them for the protection they give.

See also:-

List of ALL important hindu days in a year
List of purnima (full moon)
List of aushi (no moon/ new moon)
Lisa of ekadashis (the sacred 11th day)
Shree swasthani brata katha