List of Indian and Chinese districts sharing border with Nepal

7 districts/counties of China and 20 districts of India has border with Nepal. 14 districts of Nepal has border with China and 26 districts of Nepal has border with India. Nepali easternmost District Taplejung and westernmost district Darchula has border with both countries.

China is divided into 34 first level subdivision/governments among which 23 are provinces (including Taiwan), 4 municipalities (Beijing, Tianjin, Shanghai & Chongqing), 5 autonomous regions (Tibet, Inner Mongolia, Guangxi, Ningxia & Xinjiang) and 2 special administrative regions (Hong Kong & Macau).

Tibet, with the area of 12,28,000 sq km, is divided into 7 parts ( 4 prefecture-level-cities and 3 prefectures) among which "Shigatse/Xigazê prefecture-level-city" and "Ngari prefecture" has border with Nepal.

Shigatse/Xigazê prefecture-level-city (area: 182,000 sq km - population: approx. 7 lakh) has 1 district and 17 counties and Ngari prefecture (area: 304,683 sq km - population: approx. 1 lakh) has 7 counties. These counties and districts can somehow be compared with 77 (75+2 new) districts of Nepal.

Administrative center of Shigatse/Xigazê PLC is Samzhubzê district which is also known as Shigatse (सिगात्से) in Nepal. Its on G318 Highway about 475 kms from Nepal-China Tatopani border and about 275 kms from Lhasa. G318 ultimately reach to largest Chinese city Shanghai in about 4,200 kms from Lhasa.

Capital city of Ngari prefecture is Shiquanhe city which is also known as Gar or Ali or Ngari. It is about 370 kms from Nepal-China Hilsa Border (Humla district). S207 and G219, the roads to Shiquanhe from Hilsa, go through famous hindu pilgrims sites Mansarobar (Mapham Yumtso) and Mt. Kailash. Mansarobar is about 90 kms from Hilsa border.

List of Chinese counties and bordering Nepali districts:-

1. Dinggye County (Singatse PLC) : Olangchung Gola & Kimanthaka Border
(Taplejung & Sankhuwasabha districts)

Olangchung Gola Border & Kimanthaka Border are proposed international border between China & Nepal. Local trade currently exists between Ri'og, Dinggye County, Tibet - Olanchunggola, Taplejung, Nepal and  Chentang, Dinggye County, Tibet - Kimanthaka, Sankhuwasabha, Nepal. 

2. Tingri County (Singatse PLC) 
(Sankhuwasabha, Solukhumbu & Dolakha districts)

3. Nyalam County (Singatse PLC): Tatopani Naka, Khasa (Dram/Zhangmu) city
(Dolakha, Sindhupalchok & Rasuwa districts)

Tatopani Border at [Zhangmu/Khasa, Tibet – Kodari,Nepal] [27.972, 85.963] was the main Nepal-China transit point until 2015 earthquake. This border is closed now.

4. Gyirong County (Singatse PLC): Kerung-Rasuwagadhi Naka 
(Rasuwa, Gorkha & Manang districts)

Kerung-Rasuwagadhi Border (near Timure) at (Gyirong,Tibet - Rasuwagadhi,Nepal) was opened in 2014 Dec (BS 2071 Mangsir 15) for bilateral trade but it was not really used. After Tatopani border was closed due to 2015 earthquake & India blocked Nepal in 2015 this border got national attention and now works as the prime transit point between Nepal & China. Border to Kathmandu is 153 kms. On 2017 Aug 30 this border is declared as international border allowing citizens from third countries to cross as well. 

5. Saga County (Singatse PLC): Korola Naka
(Manang and Mustang districts)

Korala Border (wiki: Kora La) at Upper Mustang [29.32, 83.98] (height: 4,660 m) can be reached from Kathmandu through Pokhara, Baglung, Beni, Jomsom, Kagbeni (near Muktinath Temple), Syanboche to border (Kali Gandaki corridor). We can find public vehicle until Kagbeni now. Track to join Kagbeni to Korala Border is about 100 kms but the road is muddy/gravel and in very bad shape. Koroala border is about 50kms from Chinese national highway G219 @ [29.72, 84.04]. Local trade is currently exists here. This unrelated youtube video shows the border at 7m45s : link

6.  Zhongba County (Singatse PLC):
(Mustang, Dolpa, Mugu & Humla districts)
7. Burang County (Ngari prefecture): Hilsa Naka-Humla & Lipu Lekh
(Humla, Bajhang & Darchula districts)

Hilsa Border at (Burang/Taklakot,Tibet - Hilsa, Humla, Nepal)[30.152, 81.334] is the westernmost Nepal-China border. Hilsa is in Namkha Gaupalika (old Muchu VDC). Way to Hindu pilgrimage Mansorabar and Mt. Kailas in Tibet goes from Here. A small swing bridge on karnali river joins two countries.  In Nepal side, Hilsa is connected only to district capital Simikot by muddy motor road. Helicopter service exists from Simikot to Hilsa. Tibetan town Burang/Taklakot is about 15 miles from the border and Mansarovar is about 30 miles from there. On Chinese, side road is well connected from border to Taklakot to Mansarovar all the way to Chinese National Highway G219.
See youtube video: link link

Lipu Lekh Pass, Darchula, State no 7, Nepal is the part of Nepal forcefully captured by India since India-China war of 1962. It is very close to Nepal-India-China tri-national border.

India has 29 states and 7 union territories. Indian states Sikkim, West Bengal, Bihar, Utter Pradesh and Uttarakhand share border with Nepal which is divided into 7 states now.

26 Nepali districts has border with 20 districts of India.

List of Indian Districts and bordering Nepali districts:-

1. North Sikkim district (State: Sikkim)

2. West Sikkim district (State: Sikkim)
(Panchthar & Taplejung-State1)
3. Darjeeling (State: West Bengal)
(Jhapa & Illam-State1)
4. Kishangunj (State: Bihar)

5. Araria (State: Bihar)
(Morang & Sunsari-State1)

6. Supaul (State: Bihar)
(Sunsari-State1 & Saptari-State2)

7. Madhubani (State: Bihar)
(Saptari, Siraha & Dhanusha-State2)

8. Sitamarhi (State: Bihar)
(Mahottari, Sarlahi & Rautahat-State2)

9. Purbi Champaran (State: Bihar)
(Rautahat, Bara & Parsa-State2)

10. Paschim Champaran (State: Bihar)
(Parsa-State2 & Chitwan-State3)
11. Maharajganj (State: UP)
(Chitwan-State3, NawalparasiE-State4,NawalparasiW-State5 and Rupandehi-State5)

12. Siddarthnagar district (State: UP)
(Rupandehi & Kapilvastu-State5)

13. Balrampur district (State: UP)
(Kapilvastu & Dang-State5)

14. Shravasti district (State: UP)
(Dang & Banke-State5)

15. Bahraich district (State: UP)
(Banke & Bardiya-State5)

16. Lakhimpur Kheri district (State: UP)
(Kailali & Kanchanpur-State7)

17. Pilibhit district (State: UP)

18. Udham Singh Nagar district (State: Uttarakhand)

19. Champawat district (State: Uttarakhand)
(Kanchanpur, Dadeldhura & Baitadi-State7)

20. Pithoragarh district (State: Uttarakhand)
(Baitadi & Darchula-State7)

See Also
  1. List of all cities and villages in Nepal