Timeline of proposed federal structures

This is the timeline list of proposed federal structures of Nepal before the constitution was promulgated in 2015. See also:-

Timeline of the new Constitution of Nepal 2072 B.S.
Timeline of Nepali Civil War (1996-2006)
Historical administrative division of Nepal
New federal structure of Nepal

Official Map of Administrative divisions of Nepal by
Government of Nepal, Survey Department (karma99.com)

2015 Sep 20 Sun (Ashoj 3, 2072 BS): President Dr. Ram Baran Yadav promulgated the Constitution of Nepal in the last meeting of Constituent Assembly. 

2015 Sep 16 Wed (Bhadau 30, 2072 B.S.):  Nepal's Constitution 2072 B.S. endorsed by the constituent assembly meeting by 2/3 majority

2015 Aug 21: After several protests in two weeks 3 major political parties (Congress, UML & Maoist) now agree on a new 7 states model. Three parties have combined 451 (75%) seats in Constituent assembly. 4th party from earlier agreement (Forum-democratic) opposed the agreement.

Karma99: Map of 7 states of Nepal

The 6th state from the earlier "6-state model" is divided into two creating new 6th and 7th state. Salyan district from earlier 5th state is given to new state-6. One village (thori) from parsa district in state-2 is given to state-3.
Many regional organizations and parties protested against earlier proposed 6 states model demanding:-
- Akhanda Sudur-paschim (undivided far-west region)
- Akhanda Madhya-paschim (undivided mid-west region)
- Tharuhat Pradesh (from Nawalparasi to Kanchanpur excluding hill districts)
- Karnali pradesh (including present Karnali zone)
- Akhanda Baglung district (not to divide present baglung district)

2015 Aug 8: Four major political parties (Congress, UML, Maoist and Forum-Democratic) agreed on a new 6 states model. All new 6 states will have boundary with India. 4 states (except 2 Lumbini & Madhesh) will have boundary with China as well.

Aug 8, 2015: 6 states of Nepal initially agreed among major parties

2015 June 9 : 16-points agreement between four major political parties (Congress, UML, Maoist and Forum-Democratic). They also agreed on 8 state model. But boundaries are not finalized. Maoist led 30-party alliance split.

2015 Apr 25 : Earthquake in Nepal

2014 Oct 27: CPN-UML proposes 4 states model. Each states will consists hills and terai regions. The proposed four states are: Eastern, Central, Gandak & Karnali. (Link) Later other leaders of UML criticized this idea. UML officially supports Congress 6 or 7 states model. (Link)

2014 Oct 12: Nepali Congress proposed two model of six- or seven-states (Link)
6 & 7 states by Congress (source: ekantipur.com)

2014 Aug 3-4 : Indian PM Narendra Modi visited Nepal

2013 Nov 19 (2070 Mangsir 4): Election of 2nd Constituent Assembly

2012 Apr 28 : UML presented the new proposal to federate the country into 12 states. (Link)

2012 Jan 19 : State Reconstruction Commission proposes two separate federal structures, one with 11 states (including one non territorial state) and another with 6 states. (link) Among 9 members of commission 6 members (Malla K Sundar, Stella Tamang from Maoist, Prof Dr Krishna Hachhethu, Surendra Mahato from Madheshi morcha, Bhogendra Jha from UML & co-ordinator Madan Pariyar) proposed 11-state model and 3 members (Ramesh Dhungel & Sabitri Gurung from NC and Sarbraj Khadka from UML) proposed 6states model. (link) (link) (link)
10+1 states by SRC
10+1 and 6 states by SRC

2011 Nov 22: Baburam Bhattarai Government decided to from State Reconstruction Commission according to Article 138 of internal constitution of Nepal. It has given 2 months to give report.

2010 Jan 20: State Reconstruction Committee of CA passes federal structure of 14 states supported by UCPNM and UML. 14 proposed states and map are as follows:-

East hills: Limbuwan, Kirat, Sherpa, Sunkoshi,
Central hills: Newa, Tamsaling,
West hills: Narayani, Tamuwan, Magarat, Jadan, Karnali, Khaptad,
Terai: Mithila-Bhojpura-Koch-Madhesh, Lumbini-Awadh-Tharuwan.

Proposed federal structure of Nepal
by CA- Stare Reconstruction Committee 2010

2008 May 28: First Constituent Assembly (CA) meeting declares Nepal to be federal democratic republic by 560-4 votes. (12)

2008 Apr 10 : First Constituent Assembly election. CPN Maoist, Nepali Congress, CPN-UML & MJF became 1st,2nd,3rd & 4th party respectively.

2008 Feb 28 : 8-point agreement (८ बुँदे सहमति)  between Government and "Samyukta Loktantrik Madheshi Morcha" including MJF, TMLP, Sadbhawana Party (Agreed on Nepal to be Federal democratic republic and there will be autonomous Madhesh state).

2007 Aug 30: 22-point agreement between government and MJF

2007 Jan 16 : Madhesh uprising started led by Madheshi Janadhikar Forum (MJF)

2007 Jan 15 : Interim constitution of Nepal 2007 issued.

2006 Apr 24 : '19 days-Democracy movement of Nepal' ended, King re-instated the old parliament.

2002 Feb 28: Dr. Harka Gurung suggests "25-district New Nepal" as a new approach for decentralization.
Nepal with 25 districts proposed by Dr. Harka Gurung

Karma99.com - Screenshot of Dr Hark Gurung's article on
Himal Khabarpatrika 2002 Feb

Various Provincial Demands & Data according to 2011 Census

West Tharuhat: 8 westernmost terai districts (Nawalparasi, Rupendehi, Kapilvastu, Dang, Banke, Bardiya, Kailali, Kanchanpur) Total population:48,03,069 - Tharu: 24.1%

East Tharuhat: 6 eastern districts (Jhapa, Morang, Sunsari, Saptari, Siraha, Udayapur)
Total Population: 41,35,656 - Tharu: 6.9%

Akhanda Sudur Paschim (Undivided far west): 9 westernmost districts √   State no 7
Total population: 25,52,517 - Bahin/Chhettri 54.5% - Tharu 17.2%

Limbuwan: 9 districts east of Arun-Koshi river (Jhapa, Morang, Sunsasri, Ilam, Panchthar, Taplejung, Dhankuta, Terhathum & Sankhuwasabha)
Total population: 35,74,770 - Bahun/Chhetri 26.7% - Limbu 10.2%

Newa: 3 districts (Kathmandu, Lalitpur, Bhaktapur)
Total population: 25,17,023 - Bahun/Chhettri 40.2% - Newar 26.9%

Samagra Madhesh Ek Swayetta Pradesh (All Madhesh One Province) and United Tharuhat
Total population of terai : 1,33,18,705 (50.27 % of Nepal)
Khas 23.62% - Hill Janajati 9% - Tharu 12.5%

Other Links