Madhya Pahadi Lokmarga

Mid-hill highway (Nepali: Madhya Pahadi Lokmarga / मध्य पहाडी लोकमार्ग) is a under-construction highway in the hilly regions of Nepal which will run all the way from Chiyabhanjyang (Panchathar) in the east to Jhulaghat (Baitadi) in the far-west for 1,765 kms. This highway will run somehow parallel to the present East-West Highway (1,024 km) which runs through plain area. About 1,000 kms road of Mid-hill hw are already existed in different names whereas above 750 kms are new construction for which all tracks have been opened already.

A similar highway named "Hulaki Rajmarga" is under construction which will also connect eastern Nepal to far western region but it runs further south near Indo-Nepal border.

Mid-hill highway (Madhya-Pahadi Lokmarga), Nepal
This highway will connect 24 hilly districts and 215 villages of the country. Districts that will be connected by this highway are: Panchthar, Terathum, Dhankuta, Bhojpur, Khotang, Okhaldhung, Udayapur, Sindhuli, Kabhrepalchok, Sindhupalchok, Nuwakot, Dhading, Gorkha, Lamjung, Kaski, Parbat, Baglung, Rukum, Jajarkot, Dailekh, Achham, Doti, Dadeldhura & Baitadi. Central point of this highway will be Pati bhanjyang, Nuwakot.

It is one of the 21 nationally prioritized projects of the government of Nepal. The government is planning to establish 10 model cities along the mid- hill highway. Purposed 10 cities to set up model towns are Phidim (Panchthar), Basantapur (Terhathum), Khurkot (Sindhuli), Baireni Galchhi (Dhading), Dumre (Tanahun), Burtibang (Baglung), Chaurjahari (Rukum), Rakam (Dailekh), Sanfebagar (Achham) and Patan (Baitadi). These purposed model cities are expected to reduce the current migration from hilly region to Terai in search of food, Education, Health and other basic needs.

The major cities / towns/ villages along the highway are as follows:-

Eastern Nepal (State 1)

* Chiyabhanjyang of Panchathar (starting point)
* Phidim (Panchthar) [Mechi highway junction, North to Taplejung, South to Ilam, Birtamode, Jhapa]
* Yasok (Panchthar)
* Basantapur (Terhathum) [Koshi highway junction, North to Khandbari, South to Hile, Dhankuta, Dharan, Itahari & Biratnagar]
* Bhojpur (Bhojpur district)
* Diktel (Khotang)
* Thakle/Ghurmi (Okhaldhunga) [Sagarmatha highway junction, Salleri, Solukhumbu to North & Katari, Mirchaiya to south]

Central Nepal (State 3)

* Khurkot (Sindhuli) [BP Highway junction, south to Bardibas, North-west overlaps with BP highway to  Dhulikhel, Kathamndu]
* Panchkhal (Kabhre)

* Bahunepati (Sindhupalchok)
* Pati Bhanjyang (Nuwakot) [CENTRAL POINT OF HIGHWAY]

* Baireni Galchhi (Dhading)
* Kurintar (entry point to Manakamana Cable Car)
* Mugling (Junction, Bharatpur, Chitwan to South)

Western Nepal (State 4)

* Dumre (Tanahun)
* Pokhara (Kaski) [Siddartha Highway junction, South to waling (Syangjya), Tansen (Palpa), Butwal, Siddarthanagar (Bhairahawa) to Kapilvastu and Lumbini]

* Kusma (Parbat)
* Burtibang (Baglung)

Mid-Western Nepal (State 5 &6)

----under construction----

* Rukumkot (Rukum)
* Chaurjahari (Rukum)

----under constrution---

* Narayan municipality (Dailekh)
* Sigaudi (Dailekh) [Karnali Highway junction, North to Karnali Zone, South to Birendranagar, Surkhet, Kohalpur, Banke]

Far-Western Nepal (State 7)

* Mangalsen (Achham)
* Sanfebagar (Achham)
* Dipayal Silgadhi (Doti)
* Amargadhi (Dedeldhura) [Mahakali Highway junction, south to Dhangadhi]
* Patan (Baitadi)
* Dasharathchand (Baitadi)
* Jhulaghat (Baitadi) [ending point]

Is it possible for now to drive from eastern Nepal to western Nepal without touching Mahendra Highway or terai ?

- Yes. Most of the way we talking about here belongs to Mid-hill highway which sometimes already existed in different names. Some of the way of mid hill highway is due to be constructed but there are some alternative available in such situations. Out only-hill highway goes through following cities or places from east to west. Pashupatinagar border > Mechi highway junction (Fikkal) > Ilam City > Myaglung, Terathum > Koshi Highway junction > Bhojpur City >  Sagarmatha Highway junction >  BP Highway junction > Dhulikhel > Kathmandu > Pokhara > Baglung > Burtibang road junction > Rukumkot > Musikot, Rukum > Ratna Rajmarg Junction > Birendranagar, Surkhet > Sanfebagar > Dipayal Silgadhi > Mahakali highway junction > Dashrathchand muni - mahakali border

BP Highway

Kakarbhitta to Kathmadnu using BP Highway -- distance : 453km (time 8-10 hr)
> Kakadbhitta - Kosi Barrage: 136kms (mahendra hw  H1)
> Kosi Barrage - Bardibas junction: 141 kms (mahendra hw H1)
> Bardibas - Khurkot Junction: 75 kms (where BP & Mid-hill hw meet )
> Khurkot- Dhulikhel: 86 kms (BP hw+ Madhya Pahadi & Araniko hw junction)
> Dhulikhel - Koteshwor, Kathmandu: 25 kms

See Also

Hulaki Rajmarga

Tags: Puapalal Highway/ पुष्पलाल लोकमार्ग राजमार्ग, maddhe pahadi lokmarg, madhy lokrajmarg